30 Day Minimalism Challenge

Clearly, I think, the first step in my journey into a minimalist lifestyle should be to pare down my belongings. I have a lot of things. Living in a tiny dorm room only accentuates the massive amount of things that I have. And I don’t even have all of my possessions here with me. But I figure the best time to start is now, and if I put it off until I’m home on break I’ll never get around to it. So my goal, is to pare down what I have here at school with me and then over the summer do it all again with the things I keep and what I have at home. I’m following ideas spelled out by The Minimalists, and I’ll link the pages with the ideas I’m using. Now, here’s my plan:

The 30 Day Minimalism Challenge

This is just to get my feet wet before I really get into the pare down and have a Packing Party which is what I’ll do once I’m home on semester break. But, in short, the 30 day Minimalism challenge is essentially a “game” where you get rid of things every day for 30 days. Day 1, you get rid of one thing. Day 2, you get rid of two things. Day 3, three things and so on for the entirety of the 30 days. They say that things really get hard during the second week when you’re getting rid of over a dozen things every day. But, these things don’t have to be huge things. They can be, but they can also be small things. Just so long as you’re getting rid of the appropriate amount of things every day.

The rules are that whatever you’re getting rid of should be out of your house and your life by midnight each night, but since I don’t have a way to take these things to a goodwill or wherever I decide every day, I’m going to put them in a box and stash it under my bed where I will, undoubtedly, forget about it. I think this will be a good way to do things, because it’s more convenient for me and also because I’ll be able to take a picture of everything I got rid of at the end of the month. I feel like that’s really going to make me feel cleaner, and better about my decision to do this.

Leave a Reply

